Barley Fodder Videos! Including our Fodder Room Walkthrough, (and bonus cute stuff too!)

Our earlier trials of the flood and drain trays
The most important part of our “Proof of Concept” Phase!
A nice long look at them several months into the morning fodder feeding ritual.
A look at our Barley Fodder Room Operation… daily tasks take about 20 minutes.

And a few bonus cute videos for your enjoyment!

Paca Pride Alpacas Grazing…Up Close! REALLY Close! :)
Rounding up the herd from a snowy January walk
The Extended Cut! A Paca Pride alpaca romp with the dogs in the winter snow!
This entry was posted in Life at the Ranch, Llamas and Alpacas, Ranch Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Barley Fodder Videos! Including our Fodder Room Walkthrough, (and bonus cute stuff too!)

  1. caesar says:

    nice job, would you be willing to share how you built your fodder system, because it to expensive for me to buy one and your approach is something that i could build my self. it would help me with my goats.

    • David says:

      The only thing I really invested in was the grow trays which we also now sell. (You may request a quote by sending an email to info @ pacapride.com)
      The rest of the system is salvaged. Just read through the comments and other fodder articles here on this blog, and you should be able to discern most of the information you are looking for to help you put together a system.
      Beyond that, if you are seeking further assistance, we offer phone/email support for a fee. You can contact us via our website.
      Good Luck!

  2. Michael says:

    Gosh almighty Dave, after watching the Alpacas grazing up close video – they sure are a noisy eating bunch and pretty serious about their forage. Nice job. Also now that you have a couple of solid months of fodder in their system how’s that winter growth coat looking ? Are you finding results you anticipated ?

    Michael

    • David says:

      It’s like listening to a bowl of rice krispies in milk hearing the herd grazing: rip, rip, rip!

      We’re getting really excited for our fiber harvest this year. Normally by January I’m wondering when their growth is really going to kick in, this year, January’s inspection has me smiling a bit more. But, the mark will be weights at shearing time in June.

      The herd is extremely healthy though. Anedotely, we had one incident in late November, with the bane of most alpaca owners, an abscess on a lower jaw of one of the boys. When we see these large pimples forming up (something poked him inside his mouth), we tend to steel ourselves for 2-3 weeks of follow-up husbandry and care. When this one burst, I did my normal medical care, followed by 3 days of some Penicillin shots, and was prepared for a clean up and care job for a while. I was very pleasantly surprised when 4-5 days later it was healed up completely. My impression: give a healthy diet, get a healthy animal. I’m still scratching my head a bit on how quick that was.

      At this point, even if there were no health impacts, nor impact on fiber harvest, I’d stick with fodder. I’ve eliminated the pelleted grains completely, which alone was much pricier per month than the fodder; I’ve impacted my hay usage, and I’ve reduced the amount of poop I’m picking up. I’m still very much in the ‘Win’ column with this.

  3. Pingback: From Seed to Feed in 8 days: Barley Fodder Sprouting Trials | Paca Pride Guest Ranch

  4. Debi says:

    Thank you for all your help, loved the video. I now have 16 trays set up. It’s taking a bit longer than 7 days, more like 8-9 for them to grow. I’m thinking it’s our high altitude and our low humidity. We are in CO. At least I have had no problem with mold.

    I have started removing the tray’s that I’m going to feed from the watering system a day before I feed. It stays green and continues to grow without additional water. I just leave it in the tray and move the tray to another shelf, that doesn’t have a water/drain system. I’ve found that It is not nearly as wet, so I can get a much more accurate weight on it, without all the water weight. It’s also a good way to get just a bit more space on the actual grow shelf.

    Thanks again. There are still a couple of tweaks that I’ll probably try. Some with lights or amounts/soaking time with the seeds, Just to see what seems to work best in this climate. I also want to visit another’s operation that I’ve been invited to go see.

  5. David, Do you sell the plans for putting together the system? I think I have a good idea of what I need, but it would be great to have a plan and parts list.

    • David says:

      Most of what you need to know can be gleaned from the articles published here on the blog.
      I do send some additional information via email when I receive a request for a grow tray quote.
      Beyond that, I also provide system design and troubleshooting support via phone or email for an addtional fee.
      If you’d like assistance, feel free to send an email to info@pacapride.com.

  6. Pingback: I just finished the Geoff Lawton Online Permaculture Design Certification Course | Shepherd's Glen Farm

  7. Dave irah says:

    dave, what other nutrients supplimiments can include in the water, irah

    • David says:

      During my trials, I only tried using a Vitamin B-1 Solution, which is supposed to help root growth and germination. However, I no longer add any supplemental nutrients to the water when sprouting barley. There are other approaches that do add nutrients in terms of a mineralized nutrient solution, but for simply sprouting a seed, that is, taking it through the very first steps of a plant’s growth cycle, I have found additional supplementation unnecessary.

  8. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.*Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

