Damn that Groundhog and his shadow!

Well folks, here we are in March.  The cherry trees are telling us that Spring is making its entrance, but our Green Mountain Reporter and neighbor, Gayle, tells us that our valley is funneling the arctic chill through.  Who knew!  Take a look at these pictures of our late winter snow!  It is not leaving us quietly!  Keep in mind that we were just up there this past weekend on a bright and sunny day burning stumps.  Our barn guys even started assembling the barn. 
 
If that’s not enough, today I get the following message from our Green Mountain reporter: "Green Mtn weather update….STOP……Snowing very hard……..STOP…………….White Out  Conditions…….STOP………….Piling up fast" and the news says its coming down  and inch and a half an hour in the low mountains.  That would be us.
 
Oh well, looks like the burn pile will have to wait a couple of weeks now.  Probably a good thing because I just had some foot surgery on Monday afternoon and the doctor has me limping around in this funky boot contraption.  I feel like I’m participating in some ancient Chinese foot binding ritual… So that’s this weekend. 
 
Then next weekend, Glenn and I fly out to Milwaukee to attend his sister’s wedding (congrat’s Carol!). It was up in the air whether I’d be making it our not given the fluctuating nature of the construction schedule, but it will be good to go back for such a festive occasion and spend time with his family.  I’m looking forward to getting to know them better.  The last time (and the first time) I was out there we were attending his mother’s funeral.  That was the first time his family met me, so I was keen to stay a bit in the background out of respect for the family.  I remember what it was like just a few years ago with my dad and the funeral was important for the family to focus on. 
 
-David
About David

Making manifest the change I want to see in the world through the hospitality of a humble little homestead campground with yurts and alpacas.
This entry was posted in Ranch Development. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

