A visit from some local not-so-wild wildlife

So most mornings we awaken to the bright morning light streaming through the dome of our yurt.  You really get a refreshing night’s sleep for some reason in this round structure.  Ah, but alas, this past Sunday our wake up call came from huffing and snorting from outside.  At first I was thinking our neighbor’s dog came to visit as he usually does and was sniffing at the door.  But then it seemed that there was more than one sniffer in the works probing around outside. 
 
I pop out of bed to take a look…peek out the door…and WHOA!  Dem R COWS!  Actually cows with horns!  Bulls!  Well, steer if you know what I mean!  Quite a surprise!  I jump into action.  Grab the camera.  Won’t be turning my back on those horns, but this is as good a time as any to see if I got what it takes to wrangle these suckers up.  I mean they had to have gotten loose from somewhere, right?
 
Luckily with a bucket of frosted mini-wheats to coax them and a good long stick to drive them, I led them back up to where we though they were most likely escaping from, our neighbor’s yard to the north.   I had them travelling at a brisk clip and every once in a while they would attempt to turn around and challenge my alpha male dominance.  Of course, I would have none of that! 
 
Chalk up another fun and new experience at the ranch… I think I’m beginning to get a sense of what life will be like up on Mountain Loop.
 
-David
About David

Making manifest the change I want to see in the world through the hospitality of a humble little homestead campground with yurts and alpacas.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

