It’s time for Adventures in Alpaca Training!

That’s right!  I’m off to Bend, Oregon!  Located in the ‘bend’ of a river in central Oregon on the eastern side of the Willamette National Forest, it is my destination for today.  So, I packed up the car for the 5 days I’ll be down there and headed out the door.  Now, most of the travel is heading down south on I-5 through Washington and Oregon… Ho Hum…did it a kazillion times and while it is quite a scenic journey it also lets drivers zoom at some pretty fast speeds at times.  So, I save my photo opportunities hoping that when I crossed over to State Route 22 and the mountain pass, I’d have a little more to show.   

Wow!  All of a sudden it sure got pretty out!  The first thing I noticed was the scenery changing from flat valley farmland to scenic mountain vistas.  I thought I’d stop at what appeared to be a deep valley gorge, but as I looked for a spot to turn out to I discovered a dam. Perfect.  The Detroit Dam and Lake.  I snapped some photos on both sides.  Lots of pretty to go around with second helpings to spare.

Then, I created the mountain top and ran smack into the reality that Smokey the Bear always warns us about…here are some photos of the shear devastation forest fires can cause.  Simply astonishing.  It was like a tree graveyard, very ghoulish…but at the same time wonderous to see how the forest reclaims itself from  these mostly natural events (this one was caused by lightening as I learned from the “Fire Information Kiosk”).

Not to be outdone, I turned off for the Mt. Washington vista point and off in the distance a huge forest fire was in progress complete with water tanker planes zooming over to dump their cargo.  

Driving through the town of Sisters, you saw plenty of signs of appreciation for the firefighters that put their lives on the line to protect these mountain communities.  

Well I’ve settled down into my motel room, actually kinda desent.  Did the exploratory walkabout on the property: pool? Check…hot tub? Check… Oh pretty scenic park right next door and on the river too! Look wedding parties gathering for their photos too!  Very quaint.

Tonight it’s off to the Meet & Greet for the 4-day workshop.  I’ll bring my camera…  We start bright and early tomorrow with alpaca handling basics.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s time for Adventures in Alpaca Training!

  1. Carol says:

    Hi,
    I saw your comment on Ed\’s blog and the name pacapride caught my attention because my sister raises alpacas (lives and breathes alpacas to be exact!)
    Your new house will be beautiful and in such a gorgeous location!! Good luck with everything. I will be back to check on your progress.
    Carol

Leave a Reply

