Roof takes on more shape, llamas need to get in shape

More pics of the house… Came in town for the day, it was a bit damp at the land this week, blah!  But, ya know, there is something a bit meditative about picking up llama poo.  Mucked the pasture out and the compost pile grows.  It is time to build our compost bins behind the barn.  This stuff is gold!  I should have enough compost for starting a terrific garden come this Spring. 

So while the construction continues, I am also working more with the boys.  First order of business is establishing some rituals.  I do this…they do that. They’ve had their second weighing and body scoring since they got here.  My suspicions were confirmed, they are a bit too happy here. That is, they are putting on weight, too much weight.  I will start to bring them in off the pasture and we’ll need to set up some temp fencing to control grazing areas.  Yago feels like a mattress on top! That’s just not good.  On the bright side, my pasture is definitely nutritious.

For all you Seattle locals, there are still, surprisingly enough, some pretty spectacular days coming up that is all about Autumn.  If per chance you have a Sunday available, or even a weekday, I’d like to invite you to come on up and help me walk these guys.  We walk right from our property to a simple trail that leads to the railroad tunnels.  It’s fun and it gets them used to hiking.  Plus, they need some exercise.  You can give me a call on the Paca Pride Phone line: 360-691-3395 and we can make arrangements for a visit.  We plan on anywhere from 1-2.5 hours round trip for the hike, at a llama’s pace.

This entry was posted in Ranch Development. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roof takes on more shape, llamas need to get in shape

  1. Ruby says:

    WOW the house is looking wonderful. I have been reading your blog for a couple months now and am really impressed with the progress of things. My husband and I drove up to granite falls one day because I wanted to sein person how pretty it was.
    Keep up the good work.
    Ruby

Leave a Reply

