Nope, no power anytime soon

Well what an interesting experience this week has been.  Not only did we just experience one of the most powerful wind storms that the Pacific Northwest has seen in a long time (better listen to Al Gore, this planet has got some loooooo-ming problems!), and over a million without power (of which we are discovering that really rural folks are lower on the priority list as we prepare for at least 4-5 days of being without…oh, I hope Monday brings some news!), yeah, yeah, not only all that above; but, also, I got to do it in a yurt, with my electricians.

Yup, you heard me right…with my electricians.  Now, several scenarios, no doubt, course through one’s mind when one may picture me in my warm, cozy, sheep skin laden yurt all snuggle bunny and foo foo tossing in two gruff, blue collar, salt-of-the-earth guy guys.   No doubt, some of you will let your imagination get the best of you.  Oh, you naughty ones know I’m talking about you, shame on your potty brain! Needless to say, they decided to spend the night at the construction site.  They’ve done it before.  They must like me or something. (hehehe)

Now, add beer and cocktails and mix it with occasional bursts of thunder and lightening and huge whooshes of sling-me-to-Oz winds, rain, and sometimes hail, and you’ve got a party.  (That’s a picture of Wes, our journeyman electrician trying on his snow goggles)  There were times I honestly thought that a tree would topple on the yurt.  That quickly passed and was replaced with a few exclamatory remarks at the realization by us three that the yurt itself could blow away…hmmmm.  Of course, I proceeded to explain that the very shape and construction of the yurt contributes to its strength in winds; something about the conical shape making the wind press it into the ground.

The cherry that topped the piecelet (that’s a sliver of a piece) of cake served at my party of three has to go to the entertainment for the evening.  Alas, my suggestion of having beauty night and doing facials by the candlelight was quickly shot down and we ended up listening to the Seahawks game on the battery powered radio. Blah! No, not blah referring to listening to a football game on the radio, puh-lease, I can be butch; but blah, meaning those dreary Seahawks! Gawd, what an awful game! I felt sorry for them. 

Well, needless to say, I survived and so did my electricians.  Nothing really to report on the land in terms of damage.  All that snow that had melted away this past week was replaced with about 2-3 inches more.  The rain was already turning it all to a slushy mess.  Driving back into town you could see many points where trees had fallen across the road and been sawn away.  These seem to be gathering in numbers as this winter season unfolds.  Gee, maybe it’s a good thing we are building a ranch in the mountains.  Maybe when the call comes to "head for the hills", we’ll be ahead of the game and be there already. 🙂 

 So, nope, no power anytime soon.  Ah, perhaps Monday?

About David

Making manifest the change I want to see in the world through the hospitality of a humble little homestead campground with yurts and alpacas.
This entry was posted in Ranch Development. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nope, no power anytime soon

  1. Cassie says:

    It\’s going to be SO worth all the trouble when you finally get settled into your new home. You will appreciate it that much more! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

Leave a Reply

