The magic of the Mountain Loop?

I like to think that we live in a day and age where miracles are commonplace and one’s spiritual growth is paramount in one’s journey.  Nothing makes you stop and reflect this as much as when you experience something out of the ordinary.  For me lately, these have been nature based.  Let’s see, we’ve had a bat in the yurt, visits from roaming steer (big steer with really big horns!), woodpeckers, bluejays, barn swallows, bunny rabbits, and deer.

Well we’ve known about the local deer for sometime.  I’ve seen them cross our property before, and even uploaded pictures of them to the blog.  Typically, they cross areas well away from us.  When they do see us, well they scamper away. Run, Bambi, run!

However, something strange occurred yesterday as I set out orchard grass for the llamas.  After calling for the boys to come get their hay, I notice three deer on the other side of the fence.  So, armed with camera in hand, I headed over to check them out.  They were smaller than the ones I’ve seen before, and weren’t acting very skittish.  As a matter of fact, they weren’t even moving away from me.  As I got closer and closer I expected them to start moving in the other direction.    

Instead, the smallest one starts to head cautiously over to me.  OK, now my gears start turning:  Someone has got to have been feeding them; hmmm, foraging must be really low if they are this brave; maybe they saw me with the llamas and are thinking "hey, this guy is cool with us 4-leggers"; uh-oh, if they are this friendly they’ll end up as roadkill pretty soon or some redneck roadside hunter might kill ’em;  hey, deer meat is pretty good, maybe I should catch them (no that would spoil the magic and I would be the redneck, lose-lose, but venison tacos! yum!); hmmm, gonna have to protect the llamas from the deer (deer can bring worms). 

You get the picture.  This was certainly not the normal deer experience from afar.  In a way I was glad there was a fence between me and them.  I had this brief image of a Farside cartoon where the deer were the hunters and I was the prey, "OK Hal, you go up and distract him, we’ll flank him from the other side!"

All in all, it made for some Mountain Loop Magic.  It’s not everyday you can say you’ve met some deer in your backyard that come up and say hello.  So I’ve  uploaded these pictures and the YouTube video clip to enjoy!

About David

Making manifest the change I want to see in the world through the hospitality of a humble little homestead campground with yurts and alpacas.
This entry was posted in Fun Entries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

