The Paca Pride Heat Wave report!

It is summer in the mountains! 

The foxglove and daisies are pushing up outta da ground and here at Paca Pride the alpacas and llamas are standing in the sprinklers wetting their bellies or sunning themselves on the grass. 

Our barn swallows, residing in the barn of course, have had babies! 

Peter visit 006 Most of the snow is now off the scenic north side of Mt. Pilchuck and the lookout at the top of the mountain looks stunning through our telescope.  The hike to the top is a good one to try out for you avid hikers! Check out the links on my site for some more info.

Everything around here is experiencing the burst of summer growth that comes with these long hours of sunshine.

Still, 93 degrees yesterday was the peak of sweltering hotness. With very little breeze in the air it made for a very lazy day.  I focused on filling some nail holes on some of the wood trim.  It was about all I could manage in this heat.  Armed with my iced green tea (I think I drank a gallon) my plan was to take advantage of the hot dry weather for some interior painting that we have on the punchlist. 

Maximo and Shadow have crashed in the shade panting after short bursts of energy to the water dish. They laugh at me when I suggest the run to go get the stick I throw; the classic "in-this-heat-you’ve-gotta-be-kidding-me" look.  I throw them an ice cube every once in a while.

Boy there is still so much to do before we have our housewarming party on the 28th!  It is easy to get overwhelmed.  It’s also Glenn’s 50th and the one thing he has requested from me as a present harkens back to his childhood days of summertime freshness in Wisconsin…its a clothesline! He wants that fresh-as-a-summer-breeze feeling in his sheets.  I guess we are really starting to value those simple things in life these days.  So, I better get on it…off to Home Depot for parts.

About David

Making manifest the change I want to see in the world through the hospitality of a humble little homestead campground with yurts and alpacas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

