This just in! The loop will loop again

10-26-07 Snow on the Mountain and first frost on the ground 005 According to the Seattle P-I, the Mountain Loop Scenic Highway, is set to loop again!  Here’s a link to their story.  Essentially, back in 2003 we had some really severe flooding up at Barlow Pass.  It washed out the entire road connecting the two sides of the western slopes of the Cascades.  But it looks like the US Forest Service is reopening the pass today!  So after years of waiting we can now expect to see this scenic road trip reopen in its entirety. 

Interestingly enough, the snow level has been dropping down.  10-26-07 Snow on the Mountain and first frost on the ground 010 We can already see snow starting to accumulate on the north side of Mt. Pilchuck, which is our front view.  To top it off, our first real frost of the season hit us at the 1000 foot level.  So, I woke up to white frost covered grass in the front yard.  Funny, now that the Mountain Loop is reopening, it probably won’t get much traffic until the snow passes and Spring arrives.  So, we’ll have to see if we can steal away during these last sunny days (it’s expected to be 59 degrees on Sunday) and drive up and over Barlow Pass.  Of course, we’ll probably turn around and come back instead of making the entire trip. 

Now if only we can getting funding to repair some of the trails that were damaged…

10-26-07 Snow on the Mountain and first frost on the ground 026

About David

Making manifest the change I want to see in the world through the hospitality of a humble little homestead campground with yurts and alpacas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This just in! The loop will loop again

  1. swamp says:

    Afternoon. Thanks for the nitrates  lol  Thought I\’d splash by and have a look round. What an amazing place. Had a wander round the website too. Did you take the pics at Mountain Loop Highway? They\’re very good. Love to visit with my camera  lol
    Enjoy the weekend  🙂

  2. Deborah says:

    I know that I won\’t attempt the trip until Spring.  Tickets went on sale for the Chorus today, and I\’m hoping to attend the Judy Collins show on the 2nd.  Maybe I can see you there.
    blessed be

  3. Magick says:

    Hi There:
    I\’ve been meaning to come by here for a visit for ages.  Sorry it took me so long to get over here.  Those are beautiful pictures of the mountains.  Are those pictures of where you live?  Just breathtaking.
    Thanks for coming by my space and leaving such a nice comment….I\’m going to go have a look around your space now.  I hope you\’ll pop by my place again sometime.
    Blessings,
    Diane

  4. David says:

    All these fabulous mountain views are right from the ranch!  I hope you plan to visit someday in the future.

  5. Deborah says:

    A friend of ours bought tickets for the Chorus for the 23rd.  I wanted to attend the Judy Collins show and don\’t know why Susan bought for any other night, but at least I will hear the Chorus again.  When you\’re coming to town let me know.  I can\’t tell you how much admiration I have for your enterprise.  I would like to meet the Pride!
    Blessed be,

Leave a Reply

