“Out of the Wilderness” from Newsweek

There is a very interesting article in the February 18th edition of Newsweek which you can find here: http://www.newsweek.com/id/109613 

Title:  Out of the Wilderness

Subtitle:  A new study says we’re not getting out into nature as much as we used to. Maybe that’s a good thing.

This is completely relevant on my radar screen as we strive to build our project, Paca Pride Guest Ranch.  The article discusses the changing face of the outdoor experience, mentioning a decline in hunting and camping and featuring a picture of the ubiquitous off-road 4-wheel vehicle that we see more people taking to the outdoors.  The proposed theory is that a decline in experiencing nature, the wilderness, the outdoors, however one may refer to it, has a correlation to a decline in concern for the environment in general. 

Somehow what struck a chord with me was the disconnect with the changing demands of the outdoor "consumer".  So I left the following comment:

"In this age of consumerism, it may appear that we need to repackage the outdoor experience to consider the levels of accessibility and convenience being given to the public. For example, as we discovered when researching our project to create a guest ranch and reinvent camping using yurts, many campgrounds are seeing a significant revenue increase by introducing yurts as an option. It makes the outdoor experience more convenient, much quicker to relax into, and easier on the planning and investment factors. We need to consider how to repackage the outdoor experience to fit the rapidly changing demands of the modern day consumer who want features like: "ease-of-use", "uniqueness", and "something-new-and-different". Let’s face it simply enjoying a walk in the woods for its own intrinsic value would become greatly enhanced if that walk offered something in return…think educational kiosks along the way that talk about the environment being experienced, history of the area, relevance to one’s one experience. I think we will see more of a shift from primitive camping towards more packaged offerings with amenities in the same settings over the next several years. People still want to enjoy a walk in the woods today, but then they want to come back and get a massage or sit in a hot tub too. They want less effort and more experience."

I leave you with the most recent picture of our front view of snow capped Mt. Pilchuck.  It features the most popular summer hike up to the Lookout Tower at the peak…

02-12-08 Mt. Pilchuck on an overcast day 006

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Out of the Wilderness” from Newsweek

  1. Kuskulana says:

    I think you are on the right track here.
    A genuine interest in and care for the natural environment is an essential part of our cultural and personal health I do believe.
    Many people want to get out into it and be able to return to a comfortable base, and I see nothing wrong with that.
    There are many instances of informational signs, rest areas and trail design that can add to the experience of visitors to nature.
    I can show you examples of some around here as the year goes by, and I can offer assistance in erosion control along trails and cleared areas as well as trail design.
    At any rate keep that great project going, I want to visit !

  2. Sue says:

    Sounds like paradise to me!  I love Llamas and Alpacas.  I miss the ones that used to live near us here in No. CA–they moved them to who knows where?!  I used to love to go visit them when walking my dog.  Thanks for visiting my space!

  3. Holly says:

    haha..
    very funny things in your space.
    I\’ll come here and leave my comment on with this.
    er..
    I am happy to be a friend with you..
    and  I believe I can learn the English more from you.
    haha..
    come on ..
    Happy everyday..

Leave a Reply

